Excel Awards

Congratulations 2024 Excel Award Winners!

  • Cottonwood High, Adam Wilkins
  • Hartvigsen School, Seyyed Sharifi
  • Stansbury Elementary, Iliana Gomez
  • West Kearns Elementary, Alejandra Mena Arellano
  • Hunter High, Rock Frampton
  • Frost Elementary, Brandon Moore
  • Truman Elementary, Nathan Smith
  • Lincoln Elementary, Prema Chruthoti
  • Upland Terrace Elementary, Susan Wiley
  • Skyline High, Shae Bunker

The Excel Awards

Each year, nine classroom teachers and one school administrator are honored for their efforts in forging a “Legacy of Leadership & Learning” in the difficult and vital work that they do every day at an Excel Evening of Honors event with a dinner, videos of their accomplishments, a $1,000 check, and gifts from community sponsors. To be a sponsor, contact the Granite Education Foundation office.

The nine winning classroom teachers will then have the opportunity to apply for the Granite School District Teacher of the Year award, along with past Excel Award winners who are current classroom teachers. The GSD Teacher of the Year award winner then represents Granite School District as the applicant for the Utah Teacher of the Year award. We are honored to be a part of the nomination process to honor Utah’s top educators.

To nominate a teacher for the 2023-2024 Excel Award, go to https://granitekids.org/excel/

2023 marks the 34th year of Granite Education Foundation's Excel Award, the oldest and longest running teacher recognition award in the state.

This year, nine educators and one administrator will receive $1,500 each as well as additional prizes honoring the difficult and vital work they do.

2022 Excel Award Winners

  • Heidi Baer, Driggs Elementary
  • Lynsey Butler, Post High
  • Principal Brenda Byrnes, Woodstock Elementary
  • Kirsten Federico, Woodrow Wilson Elementary
  • Kathleen Hess, Cottonwood High
  • Michele Jones, Cyprus High
  • Colette Madsen, Twin Peaks Elementary
  • Grace Morrell, South Kearns Elementary
  • Ruben Núñez Gutiérrez, Eisenhower Jr. High
  • Pamela Tafili, Jefferson Jr. High

2021 Excel Award Winners

  • Rebecca B. Monson, Administrator, Thomas W. Bacchus Elementary
  • Albert Ferrarons Font, West Lake Junior High
  • Jennette Fordham, Woodstock Elementary
  • Jennifer Bond-Foulke, William Penn Elementary
  • Tayler T. Khater, Skyline High
  • Michael C. Kraniski, Olympus High
  • Samuel K. Noyce, Thomas Jefferson Junior High
  • Cynthia Pearson, Howard R. Driggs Elementary
  • Amy M. Roper, Bennion Elementary
  • Rachel Sorensen, West Valley Elementary



© 2024 Granite Education Foundation